25. Deb’s Life Class

“Feelings are always purest and most glowing in the hour of farewell.” –Jean Paul Richter

It’s hard to believe that this is the end of my creative strategist class. I remember the first day I sat in those yellow lambourghini seats in the Jaqua center, nervous and excited about what was to come. Now, those same feelings linger in the pit of my stomach but for different reasons.

It’s not often in life that I feel utterly inspired. Deb’s class gave me that opportunity every single Tuesday and Thursday afternoon. Before her class, I had never recognized the sheer talent of the peers that surround me. I had never cried in a lecture hall. I had never felt that I could do something that would contribute meaning to the world.

As one student pointed out, “I never knew that I signed up for a life class.”That’s exactly what it is: a life class. My entire life, I’ve been so accustomed to attending classes solely because it’s part of the next steps. You go to school, you get a degree, you get a job, you live a happy life.  That’s what is supposed to happen.

But I didn’t realize that sometimes it’s about more than just school. Sometimes the best lessons that you learn come from the inspiring people around you. We were so fortunate to have speakers who taught us unforgettable lessons.

As Deb said in her last lecture, “Some people die at 25 and aren’t buried until they’re 75”

Never stop learning. Never stop living. 

I want to take the time to give a sincere thank you to everyone who was a part of the creative strategist experience with me. Thank you to Deb, for everything. Thank you to all of the incredible speakers who generously took the time out of their day to give us insight. It’s been an experience that I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

I am learning all the time.  The tombstone will be my diploma. –Eartha Kitt

Without further ado, here is the link to my portfolio: www.kelseywilkins.com

 

3 thoughts on “25. Deb’s Life Class

  1. Will miss reading your Blogs! Even I have learned so many ‘Life Lessons’ from your Blogs. You are an inspiring and motivating writer Kels…I’ve LOL many times! Daddy and I have been inspired by a UO Professor named Dominic LaRusso…it makes your learning experience much more meaningful! Proud of you!! Mama Mia

Leave a Reply

