24. Finding Your Passion

As the year winds down to an end, I took some time to reflect on all of the lessons that I’ve learned throughout this term. I flipped through my notebook, and one of the things that struck me was the difference in my notes from class to class. Most of my notes seem to be the average copying of slides. However, in one particular class, all of the notes seem to be a frenzy of inspiration and engagement. You guessed it, it’s the notes from my creative strategist class.

To show you what I’m talking about, this is what my notes from Economics look like:

Bore-snorezville.

Now, here are my notes from Creative Strategist:

Kathy Hepinstall's Lecture

Tracy Wong's Lecture (Sorry for the profanity -- blame him!)

My notes from creative strategist clearly show a higher level of engagement. I can tell just by looking that I care about that subject the most. After studying my notes for a while, I think the difference between each school subject reflects the difference in my passion.

Advertising is something I am passionate about. It’s a huge aspect of my identity; it’s what makes me happy.

I love how it feels to complete a project I worked hard on. I love when it feels like I made meaningful work, and contributed something to the world. Collaborating ideas with others for a purpose is something that I truly enjoy. I love the friends that I’ve made through my advertising journey.

It’s hard sometimes. Often I feel like I’m not good enough, or that I’ll never make it. But it’s that passion that gets me through it.

I feel pretty fortunate in that for me, finding my passion was pretty easy. Strangely enough, advertising always has been my passion, and (hopefully) it always will be. I know some people struggle to figure out what it is that makes them tick. Some people get stuck in the rut of going through the motions of life because it’s easier or more secure. But if you never unleash your potential, you will never be fully satisfied.

Success should not be defined by the amount of money you make. It can only be defined by your happiness. Deep down, everyone has a passion that drives them — it’s what keeps us sane. Find something that makes you truly happy, and start living.

2 thoughts on “24. Finding Your Passion

  1. Hello, thank you so much for this article. I just graduated last year, pursued my passion in Advertising and have since started out as a junior planner in an agency. There are many times I’m thankful to be given this opportunity to live my life to the fullest, and chasing my dream.. And also, many times I doubt myself, sinking in the entire societal trap of living expectations. Your post has revived my passion, esp your thought-provoking handwritten notes. Thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

