17. Thankful

Earlier this evening, I was checking my Facebook (surprise, surprise…) and I saw a picture from my old job. I worked at the Southwest Community Center as a camp counselor, and this image reminded me of how much unintentional wisdom children have. For those of you who can’t interpret child handwriting, it says “I’m glad for people that they believe different stuff but respect what you think and what a friend thinks that’s different.”

So, maybe his sentence isn’t grammatically correct (hey, he’s only eight), but his message is important. We should be thankful for each other, and our different perspectives. How boring would the world be if we were all the same? We have a lot to be thankful for.

In honor of Thanksgiving, here are 20 things that I am thankful for. Yes…It’s cliche. But I’m going to do it anyway.

1. My Family

2. My incredible friends – from the friends who I’ve known since birth to the friends that I just met.

3. My education

4. My home

5. Having food on the table

6. The opportunities that I have been fortunate enough to experience

7. Nature

8. Access to clean water

9. Literacy

10. Curiosity

11. People who inspire and motivate me

12. People who change the world for the better

13. Technology

14. My cozy bed

15. Teachers and Professors

16. My good health

17. Music

18. Art

19. The ability to achieve success

20. My life

Each one of our lists may be different, but I think we would all be surprised with how many similarities we have. I would bet that most people put “family” and “friends” at the top of their list.

Thanksgiving only comes around once a year, and it serves as a reminder to be thankful for what you have. However, I think I should start taking some time out of every day to reflect on what I am thankful for. There’s so much to be grateful for and I want to start showing my appreciation.

 

 

One thought on “17. Thankful

Leave a Reply

