15. Dreamers and Realists

Without much surprise, the first thing I did upon my arrival home was turn on the TV, and lazily sprawl out on the couch. The Wilkins household likes to keep our DVR well-stocked with Modern Family episodes, and Thanksgiving break is the perfect time for me to catch up on my favorite show.

There are many things that I love about Modern Family. The writing is smart, each story line is hilarious, and I’m 99.9% positive that Phil Dunphey’s character is based on my dad (the similarities are impeccable). I like that it focuses on non-traditional family dynamics, and each episode reminds me why I love my own family.

Tonight’s episode ended with a monologue that made me stop in my tracks (spoiler alert if you haven’t seen the episode yet). It may seem a little bit out of context without viewing, but this episode centralized around half of the family members believing that it is important to encourage others even if they disagree, while the other side thought it was best to react realistically. In the end, Cameron says:

There are dreamers, and there are realists in this world. You’d think dreamers would find dreamers, and realists would find realists, but more often than not, the opposite is true.

You see, dreamers need the realists to keep them from soaring too close to the sun. And the realists? Well, without the dreamers, they may never get off the ground.

I sat there slouched on my couch (rhyme!) and truly thought about that statement. I couldn’t help but wonder, am I a dreamer or a realist?

I have always been a stickler for rules, and I have a tendency to be blunt. Spontaneity is one of my worst enemies — I like following plans and formulating activities logistically. However, I also have a curiosity that burns from within. I yearn to ask questions, and constantly imagine different possibilities. I have the ability to think beyond the bare minimum, and I have a desire to change the world.

Is it possible to be both a dreamer and a realist? I’m not sure. What I am sure about is that we will always need both dreamers and realists to achieve a progressive and prosperous society.

Often, it is hard to agree with others who have different perspectives from you. Usually, it is easier to side with those who share similar opinions. But regardless of whether you are a dreamer, a realist or even both, the truth is that we all need to work together to balance out and improve our world. Without each other, we are nothing.

3 thoughts on “15. Dreamers and Realists

  1. If what you have said is your only problem then you are a far better place than me. Yeah, you guessed it right, I am here because i am looking for solutions. I would love to believe that dreamers need realists and vice verse but in my experience the opposite is mostly true. I am a dreamer and i spend most of my time dreaming. The people I come across either find my musings funny or get alarmed or disgusted by them. Its not uncommon for someone sigh wearily say something like “wonderful” or “fantastic” with a sad face. But, and this is important, most people just turn around and walk away. The only time I have a meaningful conversation is when I have a concrete and workable solution to their problem. Most realists need a concrete answer to their questions and cannot live with fantasies. Maybe they have suffered some defeats or loss because of the half-baked idea of someone or else they know that some people just learn from their own mistakes, and we dreamers fall in that category.

    Then again we dreamers do have something to contribute. In order to survive, its important that we stop doing whats not working and look for an alternate solution, and who has better experience than us in thinking and imagining alternate solutions. Plus, there is a lot that can be learned from the mistakes of our dreams. So i would like to think of us dreamers as rangers who explore the uncharted territories, trying to find paths that our regiment/tribe/team of realists can follow. I would happily step of a few landmines to save the realist tank crawling behind me, so that it can do its job once the threats have been taken care of. So realists, stand back I have a job to do here.

    • That is some beautiful insight, Shagnik. One of the things I love most about the human race is our different ideas and perspectives on subjects. I love hearing about each person’s individual thinking process and lifestyle. Thank you for your comment. I really enjoyed hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

